The exhibition opens on 8th October “Lucent Aluminum”

International event for the city of Latina, with COMEL Award 2016.

Light and shadow, brightness and darkness, the opposites play skillfully on aluminum plates, or through the aluminum express themselves in visual and bright projections, paintings, installations, and insinuate themselves into the metal, thanks to a painstaking and fascinating workmanship.

The theme for the works received by the European Union for the fifth edition of COMEL Prize is light, one of the peculiar characteristics of the metal and also a symbolic emanation of the creative power that inspires the artist. After all, the work is the result of that unique glow that distinguishes every created thing, without denying the shadows and falling in darkness, that by opposing to the light make it shine.

The thirteen selected artists interpreted masterly and in different ways this possibility,experimenting on techniques ranging from painting to sculpture, from the use of reticular LED to installations: Giuseppina Bonsangue (Italy), Giampaolo Cataudella (Italy), Ugo Cossu (Italy), Alberto Enrico De Braud (Italy), Luce Genevieve Delhove (Belgium), Elena Diaco (Italy), Federica Gionfrida (Italy), Francesca Valeria Gramiccia (Italy), Paola Lambitelli (Italy), Loredana Manciati (Italy), Clara Menerella (Italy), Mostafa Rahimi Vishteh (Italy), Betty Nicole Rieckmann (Germany).

The jury is composed of the President Giorgio Agnisola (art critic and professor of Sacred Art at the Pontifical Theological Faculty of Southern Italy) Anna Amendolagine (art critic, essayist, an official at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, cultural area), Fabio Barisani (designer and photographer), Dario Giugliano (university professor of Aesthetics and philosopher), Maria Gabriella Mazzola (manager for CO.ME.L. of Latina – Technical and Curatorial Committee and sponsor of the Award).

The exhibition, titled ‘Lucent aluminum’, opens at Spazio COMEL (via Neghelli 68, Latina, Italy) on Saturday, October 8th at 6.00 pm and closes on Saturday, October 29th, 2016, with the proclamation of the winners of the jury and the public.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!